Elected Representatives

Slindon Parish Council was formed in 1894 by the Local Government Act of that year (as were all other parish councils in villages of over 200 inhabitants). It comprises nine Councilors, who are newly elected every four years.

The Council meets in public six times a year on the second Monday evening of January, March, May, July, September and November. It has a statutory responsibility to organise an Annual Parish Meeting, which takes place in early April. This is always well attended, with the National Trust, our County and District Councilors and, occasionally other guests (such as our MP) as speakers. The meeting is open to public questions.

The Council raises a modest sum by way of a Parish precept (a small element of Council Tax) with which it maintains some public facilities such as street lighting, children’s playgrounds, sports fields, notice boards and other facilities. It liaises at County and District levels to represent the interests of Slindon regarding speed control, road and verge maintenance etc. and collaborates with Sussex Police concerning fly-tipping, vandalism, graffiti, larceny and other social issues.

The Council has a statutory right to comment on Planning Applications in the Parish and its Planning Committee calls public meetings to gauge local opinion on any application likely to be of wide public concern. Current Councilors’ names and telephone contacts are published on the Parish Council’s website.

A History of Slindon Parish Council 1894 to 1984 was published by Bernard Keeling in 1984 Copies can be borrowed from the Parish Clerk.

Link: www.slindonparishcouncil.gov.uk

District Councilor is Norman Dingemans.
Bishops Piece
Nr Slindon
BN18 0SR
Home Telephone: 01243 814676
Mobile: 07920 702941 (Arun Iphone)
Email: normandingemans@aol.com
Link: www.arun.gov.uk

County Councilor is Derek Whittington
Link: www.westsussex.gov.uk

Member of Parliament is Nick Herbert.
Telephone: 020 7219 4080
Email: nick@nickherbert.com
Link: www.nickherbert.com

Member of the European Parliament is Daniel Hannan.
Email: daniel.hannan@europarl.europa.eu

Copyright © SlindonLife 2017

Designed by Plan B